State Contest Results


For immediate release
The Iowa High School Speech Association held the State Debate Tournament January 8th and 9th . The Tournament took place virtually for the first time ever. Results are listed below:

Two Person Champion Iowa City West Close Out both teams are considered champions
Aman Reddy & Miles Clark ( Iowa City West) and Gautam Sharda & Matthew Bedel (Iowa City West) 

Lincoln Douglas. Champion Iowa City West Close Out all 4 are considered champions
Heidi Gu, Nathan Weimar, Hanae Matsumoto, and Jayden Shin

Student Congress - Champion - Advika Shah - Iowa City West 
1st Runner-up- Elizabeth Clark - Ankeny 
2nd Runner-up- Pakshal Jain - Iowa City West 
3rd Runner-up- George Pierson - Dowling Catholic 

Public Forum Riggleman Division : Champion Dowling Catholic
Zachary Harnden & Christopher Pierson (Dowling Catholic) over Maddux Ryan Stout & Isabel Hanson (Norwalk)

Galligan Division Champion Okoboji: 
Lexi Duffy & Haley Harms (Okoboji) over Iris Mackenzie & Barrett Edwards (Grinnell) 

Sweepstakes Trophy- Trophy given to the top school at the 2021 IHSSA State Debate tournament ....5th Ames, 4th Okoboji, 3rd Grinnell, 2nd Dowling Catholic , and 1st place and Sweepstakes Champions for the IHSSA State Debate is Iowa City West.

Policy Debate Results

Lincoln Douglas Results

Galligan PF Results

Riggleman PF Results

Student Congress Opening Round House Totals

Student Congress Final House Totals

Sweepstakes for 2021 Tournament

For more details please call the IHSSA at 515-288-9741 or the IHSSA web site (state debate results)